[Back to top]
San Mateo County Assessor-Clerk-Recorder-Elections
Shape the Future. Vote!

Official Election Site of San Mateo County

MARK CHURCH, Chief Elections Officer & Assessor-County Clerk-Recorder

Senate Bill 415: Elections Moving from Odd to Even Years


Why don’t I see my jurisdiction on the ballot?

San Mateo County’s election landscape is changing and most scheduled local elections will no longer occur in odd-numbered years beginning in 2017.  Senate Bill No. 415 (SB 415), also known as the “California Voter Participation Rights Act”, mandates jurisdictions with odd-year elections to move to even-year elections by November 2022 if voter turnout falls below a threshold established by law. The new law aims to increase voter participation and lower costs in local elections since even-numbered year elections have higher voter turnout.


Many jurisdictions in San Mateo County have already chosen to move elections that would have occurred in 2017 forward to 2018.  Other jurisdictions have scheduled their move to a later date and will still hold their regularly scheduled odd-year elections in 2017. Below is a chart of all jurisdictions with regularly scheduled even-year elections, including those that will move to an even-year cycle at a later date.


City of Belmont
City of Brisbane (starting in 2020)
City of Burlingame (starting in 2022)
City of Daly City
City of East Palo Alto
City of Foster City
City of Half Moon Bay
City of Menlo Park
City of Millbrae
City of Pacifica
City of Redwood City
City of San Bruno (starting in 2020)
City of San Carlos
City of South San Francisco
County of San Mateo
Town of Atherton
Town of Colma
Town of Hillsborough
Town of Portola Valley
Town of Woodside
School District
Bayshore Elementary School District
Belmont-Redwood Shores School District
Brisbane Elementary School District
Burlingame School District (starting in 2020)
Cabrillo Unified School District
Hillsborough City School District
Jefferson Elementary School District
Jefferson Union High School District
La Honda-Pescadero Unified School District
Las Lomitas Elementary School District
Menlo Park City Elementary School District
Millbrae School District
Pacifica School District
Portola Valley Elementary School District (starting in 2020)
Ravenswood City School District
Redwood City School District
San Bruno Park Elementary School District
San Carlos Elementary School District (starting in 2022)
San Mateo County Community College District
San Mateo County Office of Education
San Mateo Union High School District
San Mateo-Foster City School District (starting in 2020)
Sequoia Union High School District
South San Francisco Unified School District
Woodside Elementary School District
Special District
Bayshore Sanitary District
Broadmoor Police District
Coastside County Water District
Coastside Fire Protection District
Colma Fire Protection District
Granada Community Services District
Highlands Recreation District (starting in 2020)
Ladera Recreation District
Menlo Park Fire Protection District
Midcoast Community Council
Midpeninsula Regional Open Space Wards 5,6,7
Mid-Peninsula Water District
Montara Water & Sanitary District
North Coast Water District
Peninsula Health Care District
Pescadero Municipal Advisory Council
San Mateo County Harbor District
Sequoia Healthcare District
West Bay Sanitary District
Westborough Water District






Voter Registration
Candidates & Campaigns
Poll Workers
Contact Us

youtube video twitter



Registration & Elections Division
40 Tower Road, San Mateo, CA 94402
Phone: (650) 312-5222
Fax: (650) 312-5348
Email: registrar@smcare.org


Assistance for Voters with Disabilities:

Dial 711 For Telecommunications Relay Service
Phone: 1 (888) 762-8683
Language Assistance
Phone: 1 (888) 762-8683 or 1 (888) SMC-VOTE